[Resolved] Bluetooth : Loading patch failed in Debian Wheezy !

Before we start – special thanks to my friend Tina for finding out the necessary fix for this error ( I dont do much kernel stuff ). Almost one year pass since I moved to Debian Wheezy stable – and I had this funny little ( humongous ) problem with my laptop – Bluetooth adapter was not getting detected, and I couldn’t sent/receive a single file from any single devices :\
I searched a bit ( wrong ) in Google but never cracked a hint, but today I am happy – we got it fixed.
Problem:
During boot time you get this error

Bluetooth: Loading patch file failed

and once the Debian boots up – you are left with no Bluetooth. Keep in mind, this works for only Atheros adapter – and you can find yours by

$ dmesg | grep Blue
[    2.262111] usb 3-1.1: Product: Bluetooth USB Host Controller
[   11.837440] Bluetooth: Core ver 2.16
[   11.837459] Bluetooth: HCI device and connection manager initialized
[   11.837462] Bluetooth: HCI socket layer initialized
[   11.837464] Bluetooth: L2CAP socket layer initialized
[   11.837471] Bluetooth: SCO socket layer initialized
[   11.884260] Bluetooth: Generic Bluetooth USB driver ver 0.6

* Solution :
Simple command !

sudo apt-get install firmware-atheros

Re-boot and once you are up – you will find your bluetooth working ! yay ! I still dont understand – why this never came bundled with the OS – and I’m no Kernel Janitor, so exit();

2 thoughts on “[Resolved] Bluetooth : Loading patch failed in Debian Wheezy !

Leave a Reply

